The Lit Club by Hannah Eko
In the Weeds
Episode Thirteen : Eating Fried Chicken Alone
0:00
-23:34

Episode Thirteen : Eating Fried Chicken Alone

On the intelligence of comfort zones, burlesque, and joy

Hey there,

I missed last week’s episode because I was feeling a bit glum, heavy, and overly tired. Clearly I needed a break. So, I took one and didn’t record last week. I slept with my fifteen pound anxiety blanket that a friend gifted me. I sat in the sun with my eyes closed. I smoked.

I believe in reliability. I do. I know that sometimes I have to show up—even when I don’t want to, even when it’s hard, even when it’s uncomfortable.

And show up I do. I think most black women learn that lesson at like five.

I also know that this is a free podcast that I make for a very select group of quirky, kind, smart people (thank you for spending time with me) and that the world will not end if I take a week off. It’s hard making art, especially when you’re a bit of a misfit and there’s so much Content gutting up the airwaves. Still, this is the path I chose and I am devoted to it. I am also devoted to soothing my soul.

And so, I am leaning into making recording this show more pleasurable. I have a cedarwood candle lit. My room is a soft pinkish-purple (colorful lightbulb, honestly, every person with access to a Ross Dress for Less should have one, instant vibe shift.) I’m just showered and wearing my Nightmare Before Christmas pajama pant. I’m also in bed with a hot chocolate next to me.

Thank you for being here, I appreciate you. If you want to talk with me, offer suggestions on future topics (in a kind, uncreepy way), then email me at hello@honeyistheknife.com. I’m listening.

And.

Here’s Episode 13 of In the Weeds: Eating Fried Chicken Alone

In the Weeds is a podcast dedicated to deep conversations and the power of story. I also drop cannabis and book recommendations and dialogue with the open-minded, the smart, the kind, and the quirky. If you’re a writer, artist, healer, or creative or just love to go into the weeds—email me at hello@honeyistheknife.com

This episode is about the intelligence of comfort zones, my meetcutes with fried chicken, and how to embrace that #softgirllife in real life beyond making fun of the superficiality of TikTok trends.

Enjoy!

Wishing you a happy weekend.

Love,

Hannah

PS: I’m founder of Women, Writing, Weed & Wine. I’m also an expert book coach. Here’s how we can co-create magic together:

I help writers write books before they leave this planet. You in 2023: starting and finishing your memoir or novel in a decidedly delightful, healing, and supportive way with expert accountability. Click the link below to schedule an initial call (it’s $$ because this is a consulting call) and you’ll see exactly what next steps you need to make to finally write your book.

I'm Ready To Write My Book

I host an intimate monthly writing workshop & event series for lovers of words and weeds. We connect, we learn, we create, & we evolve. And we smoke and we write :) Writing, Weed & Wine meets online every first Saturday. Nothing to bring but papers, pen, and your wild imagination. Here’s the 2023 Schedule!

Smoking and Writing the Good Stuff

0 Comments
The Lit Club by Hannah Eko
In the Weeds
In the Weeds, a podcast dedicated to deep conversations that linger in the wild places and the power of story. I also include cannabis and book recommendations, guest interviews, and other eclectic fare from time to time.